ARTIST

The artist must be the mean, not the aim of art: an ambassador of principles greater than himself. e.m.

 

"Je ne recherche pas un style artistique pour choquer ou pour flatter le public avec ma vision subjective du monde. Je recherche un langage pour exprimer des vérités universelles qui ne peuvent pas être communiquées avec les mots."  E.M.


Enrico Magnani est un artiste international basé en Italie. Sa première exposition a lieu à Milan en 1997. Jusqu’en 2006 il travaille comme artiste peintre figuratif puis, après une période de transition, il devient un artiste exclusivement abstrait. Son originel travail abstrait a rapidement été porté à l’attention internationale et présenté dans des musées, des fondations, des galeries privées et des institutions publiques en Allemagne, en Autriche, en Belgique, en Bulgarie, au Danemark, en France, en Italie, en République tchèque, en Angleterre, au Vatican et aux USA.

"En puisant dans les sources spirituelles les plus anciennes d’Orient et d’Occident, Enrico Magnani, à travers ses œuvres, met en scène les contrastes intérieurs de  l’Homme : âme et corps, matière et esprit, sacré et profane. Le monde imparfait de la matière et le monde parfait des idées cohabitent dans l'intériorité de l’être humain. Le moi est corps et égoïsme tandis que l’âme est universelle et altruiste. Un parcours millénaire à travers une nouvelle élaboration artistique des traditions qui ont cherché à rapprocher et à intégrer la matière et l’esprit pour arriver à mieux comprendre l’homme et son rôle dans l’univers." (Guido Folco)


 

FRA     ITA     GER

ARTIST

The artist must be the means, not the aim of art: an ambassador of principles greater than himself. -E.M.

 

I do not pursue an artistic style to shock or to please the public with my subjective vision of the world. I pursue a language to express universal truths that cannot be communicated with words. -E.M.

 



Enrico Magnani is an Italian artist who works since several years in the international art scene. His first exhibition opened November 1997 in Milan. Until 2006 he worked as figurative painter and after a transition period his work has become exclusively abstract. His original abstract artworks have brought him in few years to international attention and been presented in museums, foundations, private galleries, and public institutions in Europe and the USA.


Finally landed to art after an eclectic journey that has seen him for years, even scientific researcher in nuclear fusion, at some point in his career, Magnani has felt the need to use art to proceed in those narrow paths of knowledge where the purely rational speculation is not enough, and it is necessary to draw from the emotion as well, to that intuition, not irrational, but "otherwise rational" that only art, at a certain level of development, can express.

 

"Drawing on from the most ancient eastern and western spiritual traditions, Enrico Magnani, with his artworks, shows the human inner contrast between body and soul, matter and spirit, the sacred and the profane. Magnani’s artworks are a thousand year path through an artistic reworking of those traditions that tried to integrate matter and spirit, in order to better understand the human being and his role inside the universe." - Guido Folco

FRA     ITA     GER